Tags

, , , , , ,

“I was sick and you took care of me “ Matthew 25:36

Today was the day for flu shots. They locked everybody down for the morning and called us to the gym by block if we wanted to receive the shot. Information about the shots had been posted for a few days. So with little else to talk about in here, the pros and cons of antigens were the topic of many conversations.

Many of my peers were concerned about reactions to the flu shot. They all knew of “someone” who had had a bad reaction – from muscle soreness to fever and headache to even tales -of those who died from getting a flu shot. And when pointed out that I had never had a reaction, they considered me the statistical anomaly.

Others said that this shot was for ebola – that “they” were testing out ebola vaccines on inmates. “Who are they?” I asked. The government, was the answer. Apparently, with the ebola outbreak, there is no time to do testing with hospital or clinical trials, so they’re trying experimental vaccines out on us.

Some said that “they” were not giving us flu shots, but instead injecting us with the flu to make us sick on purpose. I pointed out that it would cost money to take care of us if we got the flu. But I learned that under Obamacare, the state gets more money from the federal government based on how many sick inmates there are. So they make us sick to get more funding. Plus, I learned, the goal is that hopefully we die from the flu. That way they get money for treating us, but then, also save the $35,000 a year it takes to keep us locked up. How can I argue with logic like that?

Call me crazy, but I still went to get my flu shot today, as did several others, most of us over 40 years old. While we stood in line in the gym, we talked about the flu. Most of us had suffered an attack of influenza one or more times in our life, recalling how one tiny little microscopic virus can knock a grown healthy man flat on his back for days. And everyone in line agreed that in the years they got the flu shot, they didn’t get the flu. Oh, they still got colds and stomach bugs, but not the kind of sickness that makes you look and feel like death has a grip on you.

I guess the thing that scares me most about the flu is not having someone to take care of me in here. I usually had someone – a parent, a spouse to bring me water or juice, ibuprofen, or chicken soup. Someone to put a cool washcloth on my hot head. Someone to check on me and ask if I was feeling any better. And along with that worry of suffering in isolation is the knowledge that should Sonia or the kids get sick, I won’t be there to be a caring presence for them. To be there and be able to ask, “What can I get you? Do you need another blanket? Do you feel like eating something yet?” I never thought I would miss caring for someone who is sick, but I do. I do. And nothing hurts worse than hearing from Sonia that she has caught a virus — which happens very infrequently, thanks be to God – and being able to provide no direct comfort.

So get your flu shot. Wash your hands. Cough into the crook of your arm. And take care of one another. Because when you comfort the sick, it’s like taking care of Jesus himself.